Advertising and Marketing Opportunities with Odyssey Media Group


 October 20, 2015
Changi Airport Group's Lee Seow Hiang named Region's Top Travel and Tourism Leader at 2015 CNBC Travel Business Leader Award

 CNBC, First in Business Worldwide, today announced Mr Lee Seow Hiang, Chief Executive Officer of Changi Airport Group (CAG) as the winner for the 2015 Travel Business Leader Award (TBLA). The award ceremony held at the TravelRave Leaders Gala in Singapore is organized by the Singapore Tourism Board.

Mr Lee's strategy to reinvent Changi Airport from being a transient spot to a theatre of experiences helped CAG stand out from other nominees. In the past six years under Mr Lee's leadership, CAG has increased passenger traffic by almost 50 per cent to 54 million passengers in 2014 and grown commercial revenues by 9.5 per cent per annum.

"CNBC's Travel Business Leader Award continues to recognize business leaders in a dynamic travel and tourism industry. We would like to congratulate Mr Lee Seow Hiang and this year's nominees for their outstanding achievements," said Mr KC Sullivan, President and Managing Director, CNBC International.

This year, a total of 11 business leaders from the travel and tourism industry were nominated for the Travel Business Leader Award 2015 before undergoing a three-phase judging process to select the eventual winner. The eventual winner and candidates were evaluated based on a combination of criteria including their organizations' financial performance, candidates' management skills, leadership qualities, as well as their contributions to shaping the region's travel and tourism industry.

"We would like to congratulate Mr Lee Seow Hiang on winning this award. It is a testament of Seow Hiang's and Changi Airport Group's ongoing efforts to drive innovation and service excellence, and we are honoured to have them as a partner to propel the tourism industry forward," said Mr Lionel Yeo, Chief Executive, Singapore Tourism Board.

Into its fifth edition, the TBLA brings business leaders in Asia Pacific together to celebrate outstanding business leadership in the Asian travel and tourism industry. Candidates for the award are business leaders from the Airlines, Hospitality (hotels and resorts), Attractions, Tour Operator, Travel Agent and Airport industries.

Past winners of TBLA include: Tan Sri Dr. Tony Fernandes, Group Chief Executive Officer, AirAsia Bhd (2011), Ho Kwon Ping, Executive Chairman, Banyan Tree Holdings (2012), Emirsyah Satar, President and CEO, PT Garuda Indonesia (Persero) Tbk (2013) and Mr Stephen Ho, President Starwood Asia Pacific (2014).